Emirati Life

My life here in the UAE is not so different from the other countries that I’ve lived in. I don’t speak the language and I don’t hangout with natives. I think this is normal for a majority of expatriates. The difference here in RAK, is that I have an Emirati license, a car, and I live at an expat community.

Al Hamra Village is a community development located at Al Hamra Golf Resort. The community is right near the Waldorf Astoria and Al Hamra Mall. So, I’m pretty well situated here. And as I said in my previous post, I’m one hour away from Dubai. I’ll be going there next week to celebrate National Day. I’m looking forward to three days in Dubai.

Since I arrived in the UAE, I’ve tried to be more social and it’s paid off. I’ve met some really good people and I enjoy their company. Last Thursday, I went to Latino Night (The White Bar) at the Waldorf Astoria and had a great time with two other teachers. I can’t remember the last time I went out dancing. This, I will definitely do more of while I’m here.

Leave a Reply

